This weekend I attended Oregon’s Premier Science Fiction Convention (Thankfully, they expand their panel topics enough to include Fantasy, or I’d feel very out-of-place). I attended over a dozen panels with a variety of authors, both traditionally and self-published, all extremely talented. Some of the notes I picked up will likely drift onto this site in the coming weeks, but what really impacted me first (as with most Conventions) was the art gallery.

No matter how great my skill at the writing craft, a part of me will always be jealous of illustrators and graphic designers. The ability to create a captivating image from a white page and a set of colors strikes me as an amazing gift, because it’s so easy for their viewers to  enjoy and admire them. If only people could read through one of my novels in thirty seconds! Perhaps in the  very distant future I’ll dabble along those lines, but for now, I’m content to hone one set of skills at a time. On to the next writing project (Once I finally chose between the four currently begging me for attention). Decisions, decisions…

